Tss 2021 Ronbouchard 1400x500 V2

Another First Time Winner? Weekend Trend Says Yes for Talladega Superspeedway’s YellaWood 500

Photo Cutline: Ron Bouchard (47) passes Darrell Waltrip and Terry Labonte at the finish line to win at Talladega Superspeedway in 1981.  It was Bouchard’s first and lone victory of his career. Eleven times in history a driver has captured his first career triumph at Talladega Superspeedway. A host of competitors seeking their first victory will compete in Sunday’s YellaWood 500 at NASCAR’s Most Competitive venue at 1:00 p.m. CDT. Great tickets are available!

Saturday Races Produced Two New NASCAR Winners at the Mammoth Venue That has Seen 11 First-Time victors in the NASCAR Cup Series

TALLADEGA, Ala. (Oct. 3, 2021) –  Sunday’s YellaWood 500 (1:00 p.m. CDT) NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs race at Talladega Superspeedway could see a trifecta of first-time winners during the weekend if the trend continues.

A venue known for producing first-time winners, the biggest and baddest race track on the planet proved yet again Saturday why it is the Most Competitive ribbon of asphalt in motorsports. Both Tate Fogleman and Brandon Brown claimed their initial career triumph in stunning fashion, winning the Chevy Silverado 250 for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series and the Sparks 300 for the NASCAR Xfinity Series, respectively. Now the attention turns to the YellaWood 500.

Since the 2.66-mile Superspeedway opened in 1969, 11 times has a driver, who had never won a NASCAR Cup Series race prior, taken the checkers.  The list includes names like Davey Allison, Ken Schrader, Brad Keselowski, Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. and Ron Bouchard, whose No. 47 winning car from 1981 will be driven around Talladega Superspeedway during pre-race ceremonies for a ceremonial lap by six-time winner Dale Earnhardt, Jr.

Editor’s Note:

  • For video of the 1981 finish (no audio), open here. For full audio and commentary, open here (Video Credit: ISC Archives/NASCAR Media Ventures)
  • For Bouchard victory photos, open here (Photo Credit: ISC/NASCAR Archives/Getty Images)
  • For all up-to-date Race Weekend logos, open link here

Drivers still looking for their first career Cup Series triumph include Matt DiBenedetto, Daniel Suarez, Bubba Wallace, Ross Chastain and Tyler Reddick.  Great tickets remain for the YellaWood 500, the second race in the Round of 12 in the NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs. For  information how fans can be a part of the excitement, log onto www.talladegasuperspeedway.com, or call 1-877-GO2-DEGA.

Maybe something’s in the air at Talladega this weekend, after all, Earnhardt’s ceremonial drive is in honor of the 40th anniversary of Bouchard’s victory. The finish saw him come from third, entering the tri-oval on the last lap, and pass future NASCAR Hall of Famers Darrell Waltrip and Terry Labonte, who would go on to win six Talladega victories between them. It was Bouchard’s lone career triumph.

For those betting on Sunday’s YellaWood 500, here are the odds for some of the drivers who are looking for that career-defining victory at Talladega Superspeedway.

  • Landon Cassill – Odds: 150-1
  • Anthony Alfredo – Odds: 150-1
  • Justin Allgaier – Odds: 150-1
  • Corey LaJoie – Odds: 80-1
  • Chase Briscoe – Odds: 50-1
  • Daniel Suarez – Odds: 50-1
  • Ryan Preece – Odds: 50-1
  • Ross Chastain – Odds: 40-1
  • Matt DiBenedetto – Odds: 25-1
  • Bubba Wallace – Odds: 25-1
  • Tyler Reddick – Odds: 25-1

The full list of drivers who captured that elusive first career victory at Talladega Superspeedway is listed below:

  • Richard Brickhouse (9/14/69) – Only NASCAR Cup Series win of his career
  • Dick Brooks (8/19/73) – Only NASCAR Cup Series win of his career
  • Lennie Pond (8/6/78) – Only NASCAR Cup Series win of his career
  • Ron Bouchard (8/2/81) – Only NASCAR Cup Series win of his career
  • Bobby Hillin, Jr. (7/27/86) – Only NASCAR Cup Series win of his career
  • Davey Allison (5/3/87) – 3-time Talladega winner, 19 total NASCAR Cup Series wins
  • Phil Parsons (5/1/88) – Only NASCAR Cup Series win of his career
  • Ken Schrader (7/31/88) – 4 total NASCAR Cup Series wins
  • Brian Vickers (10/8/06) – 3 total NASCAR Cup Series wins
  • Brad Keselowski (4/26/09) – 6-time Talladega winner, currently 35 total NASCAR Cup Series wins
  • Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. (5/17/17) – 2 total NASCAR Cup Series wins

Will we see a new winner? Only one way to find out! To see all admission options, including the Talladega Garage Experience (includes access to Garage Viewing Walkways, Pre-Race Ceremonies, Ruoff Mortgage Victory Lane, historic cars, visit www.talladegasuperspeedway.com or call 1-877-Go2-DEGA. The race can also be seen on NBC.

Fans are encouraged to keep up with all the happenings at the biggest, baddest race track on the planet by following Talladega Superspeedway on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

About Talladega Superspeedway
Talladega Superspeedway is the most competitive race track on the NASCAR schedule (record 88 lead changes in 188 laps), the highest-banked (33 degrees) and the longest (2.66 miles), as well as the most fun and fan-friendly. Three- and four-wide racing at 200 mph are a norm at Talladega Superspeedway, along with nail-biting, photo finishes. For information, visit www.talladegasuperspeedway.com or call 1-877-Go2-DEGA.