For fans who will be attending this weekend’s (April 26-28) motorsports tripleheader at Talladega Superspeedway, featuring the GEICO 500 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race, a must pit stop is the International Motorsports Hall of Fame, located adjacent to NASCAR’s Most Competitive track.

Since its creation, the Hall has been an impeccable fascination with the automobile, and in the fine state of Alabama, lovers of motorsports have a destination they can go to see one of the largest collections of racing vehicles imaginable. And, when it comes to NASCAR and the ARCA Menards Series, it actually houses more than 40 machines that have competed at the 2.66-mile venue.

Here are some cool facts about those memorable machines:

  • The International Motorsports Hall of Fame is the home of 10 cars from NASCAR’s premier series that won at Talladega Superspeedway during a particular year. They include: Richard Petty’s (#43) Dodge, Ron Bouchard’s (#47) Buick, Bill Elliott’s (#9) Ford, Bobby Allison’s (#22) Buick, Bobby Hillin’s (#8) Buick, Davey Allison’s (#28, black, white & gold) Ford, Davey Allison’s (#28, black) Ford, Dale Earnhardt’s (#3) Chevrolet, Jeff Gordon’s (#24) Chevrolet and Jimmie Johnson’s (#48) Chevrolet.
  • Four historic pieces won the NASCAR championship – Bobby Isaac’s 1970 (#71) Dodge, Petty’s 1974 (#43) Dodge, Alan Kulwicki’s 1992 (#7) Ford and Johnson’s 2006 (#48) Chevrolet.
  • A total of 22 drivers who have cars in the Hall have won at Talladega Superspeedway, including 18 in the Cup Series, three in the ARCA Series and one in the Xfinity Series.
  • The competitors who have race cars in the Hall have accumulated a total of 973 career Cup wins, led by Petty with 200.
  • Of the drivers who have piloted vehicles in the Hall, 29 have at least one Cup victory in their career.
  • Drivers in the premier series who have cars on campus have won a total of 35 Monster Series titles, and include: Petty (7), Earnhardt (7), Johnson (7), Gordon (4), Darrell Waltrip (3), Dale Jarrett (1), Isaac (1), Kevin Harvick (1), Elliott (1), Kulwicki (1), Bobby (1) and Kyle Busch (1).
  • Of the six ARCA cars in the Hall, two won at ‘Dega – Grant Adcox (#2) Chevrolet and Tim Steele (#16) Oldsmobile. Adcox is the all-time winning ARCA driver with five (sweep in 1986-87; summer of 1988) while Steele, a three-time ARCA Champ, had four (1993, then three straight from 1996-98).

The International Motorsports Hall of Fame provides an incredible platform to take a step back in time, with not only more than 120 various vehicles but countless memorabilia items as well. Fans are encouraged to stop by during the upcoming race weekend, or at any time throughout the year.

Race time extended hours of operation this week are the following:

  • Monday-Thursday, April 22-25: 8 a.m.-5 p.m. CDT
  • Friday, April 26: 8 a.m.-6 p.m. CDT
  • Saturday, April 27: 7 a.m.-6 p.m. CDT
  • Sunday, April 28: 7 a.m.-2 p.m. CDT

For additional International Motorsports Hall of Fame information, log onto For more information on Talladega Superspeedway’s highly-anticipated tripleheader, featuring the General Tire 200 for the ARCA Menards Series (April 26), the MoneyLion 300 (April 27) for the NASCAR Xfinity Series and GEICO 500 for the Monster Energy Series, visit or call 855-518-RACE (7223).