NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Autograph Session And New Rapid Qualifying Format Debuts at Talladega Superspeedway Friday



TALLADEGA, AL – The Friday slate at Talladega Superspeedway will unveil the anticipated more-rapid qualifying format for both the GEICO 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (NSCS) and fred’s 250 Powered By Coca-Cola NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS) races, and should create an extra element of fan excitement at the 2.66-mile venue. It marks the first time the new five-minute, three-round system will be used in 2014.

In addition to Friday’s qualifying (LIVE on FOX Sports 1) for the fred’s 250 Powered By Coca-Cola, which includes two rounds of practice for the NSCS drivers and one practice session for the NCWTS competitors, some of whom will participate in a special autograph session from 2:30-3:30 p.m..

Erik Jones, an 18-year-old who became the youngest winner in the history of the NCWTS in 2013, and is also the most recent winner in the series, along with four-time Series Champ Ron Hornaday, will be among the 14 drivers scheduled to appear for the autograph session Friday. The session takes place behind the OV Hill South Grandstand in sections D & E. Others scheduled to appear include: Timothy Peters, German Quiroga, Ben Kennedy, Tayler Malsam, Brennan Newberry, Joey Coulter, Spencer Gallagher, Kevin Swindell, Bryan Silas, Mason Mingus, J.J. Yeley and Jennifer Jo Cobb.

To guarantee a spot in line for the NCWTS autograph session each fan will need a wristband, which can be picked up for free from the Guest Services Office located at OV Hill South Grandstand, Section L. Those who don’t have wristbands will be allowed in the line and will be able to get autographs only if time permits. Driver participation is subject to change and can be without notice. Neither NASCAR, Inc., nor any of its affiliates are sponsors of this promotion.

Johnny Sauter is the fred’s 250 Powered by Coca-Cola defending champion, but he will have strong competition to make it two-in-a-row. He will have to battle the likes of teammate Matt Crafton, who is going after his second straight series title, along with Ryan Blaney, Alabama native Darrell Wallace, Jr., and many more.

In Sunday’s GEICO 500, only Joey Logano and Kevin Harvick have secured automatic births in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup’s Eliminator Round of eight while Brad Keselowski, Jimmie Johnson and Dale Earnhardt, Jr. may have to win the GEICO 500 in order to advance.


Talladega Superspeedway Broadcast Schedule for Oct. 17-19 (Times CT)

Day            Official Event              TV Network   Radio        Broadcast Start            Live/Tape

Fri, Oct. 17        NSCS Practice              FOX Sports 1                            1:30 p.m.                    LIVE

Fri, Oct. 17        NSCS Final Practice      FOX Sports 1                            3:30 p.m.                    LIVE

Fri, Oct. 17        NCWTS Qualifying        FOX Sports 1                            4:30 p.m.                    LIVE

Sat, Oct. 18       NCWTS Setup             FOX                                         11:30 a.m.                    LIVE

Sat, Oct. 18       NCWTS fred’s 250        FOX              MRN/SiriusXM    12 Noon                        LIVE

Sat, Oct. 18       NSCS Qualifying           ESPNEWS     MRN/SiriusXM      3:30 p.m.                    LIVE

Sun, Oct. 19      NASCAR RaceDay        FOX Sports 1                         11:00 a.m.                    LIVE

Sun, Oct. 19      NSCS Countdown         ESPN                                      12 Noon                       LIVE

Sun, Oct. 19      NSCS GEICO 500         ESPN            MRN/SiriusXM       1:00 p.m.                   LIVE

Sun, Oct. 19      NASCAR Victory Lane   FOX Sports 1                          11:30 p.m.       Same Day Delay

Use Of This Site Signifies That You Agree To The Terms Of Use
© 2018 Talladega Superspeedway


ISC Track Sites